Tesla Roadster vs Rimac Nevera, Lucid Sapphire and Taycan Turbo GT: Claims Compared
How Tesla's claimed Roadster numbers stack up against Rimac, Lucid and Porsche, why the spec table is not apples to apples, and what buyers can actually get today.
Tesla's new Roadster is, on paper, the quickest road-adjacent car anyone has announced. On paper is the key phrase. Here is how its claimed numbers sit next to the cars it is supposed to beat, and why a spec-sheet comparison is shakier than it looks.
The one-paragraph verdict
If you only judge by claims, the Roadster Thrust and Rocket trims would out-accelerate every production car. If you judge by what you can buy, the Roadster has no price, no delivery date before 2028, and the headline trims are limited or invite-only. Its rivals are on sale now.
Side-by-side
Roadster figures are Tesla's claims from 15-16 Oct 2026 (Electrek, The Verge, Reuters). Rival figures are published manufacturer claims at the time of their launches, and we did not re-test or re-verify them today, so treat them as approximate and check the maker's page.
| Car | 0-60 mph claim | Top speed | Price | Can you get it? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Roadster Performance | under 1.6 s | not stated | none announced | Reservation only, production "2028" |
| Tesla Roadster Thrust | under 0.9 s | not stated | none announced | "Limited release" |
| Tesla Roadster Rocket | under 0.59 s | 230+ mph | none announced | Invite only, not road-approved |
| Rimac Nevera | about 1.7-1.8 s | about 258 mph | roughly $2 million+ | Yes, very limited production |
| Lucid Air Sapphire | about 1.9 s | about 205 mph | roughly $250,000 | Yes |
| Porsche Taycan Turbo GT | about 2 s | about 190+ mph | roughly $230,000+ | Yes |
Electrek says the Thrust and Rocket claims are "well beyond anything on the market, including the Rimac Nevera", and that the base Performance trim beats the 1.9 seconds Tesla promised in 2017.
Why the table is not apples to apples
Different tyres, different physics. Tesla says its thrusters produce four to five times the force the tyres can handle (Electrek). That is how it claims to dodge the grip limit. A car using gas thrusters for acceleration is solving a different problem from a car using tyres and motors.
Trim matters. The under-one-second figure is for trims with thrusters. The base car at under 1.6 seconds is quick but not in a class of its own: Lucid and Porsche claim figures not far off, although at much lower or at least announced prices.
Repeatability. Thrusters run on stored compressed air. The Verge reports about 600 litres of tank volume holding roughly 250 kg of air. More gas means more "flight time", Tesla says, and the car can refill itself. How many full-power runs you get per tank is not stated.
Range took a hit. Tesla quotes 300+ miles. Rivals like Lucid publish far longer EPA range for their sedans, and Tesla itself promised about 620 miles in 2017. Different body type, of course, but range matters if you want a road car.
Four seats became two. The 2017 car was a 2+2. Today's is two seats, or one in Rocket form.
Where the Roadster could really win
- Track and stunt use, if the claims hold: downforce approaching F1 levels (Tesla's claim) from fans and active wings.
- Halo status: Morningstar's Seth Goldstein said last month the Roadster would be Tesla's new halo car (Reuters).
- Novelty: no rival offers perimeter thrusters or a fan system that can hold the car upside down.
Where rivals are safer bets
- Availability. You can order a Lucid or Porsche today.
- Known price. The Roadster has none, and Reuters notes the 2017 quote of $200,000.
- Road legality. Tesla says Rocket is not approved for public roads. Wired quotes experts predicting aviation rules for any flying use.
- Track record. Tesla missed its 2020 delivery date and several since (CNBC says it missed every one).
What analysts say
Gene Munster of Deepwater Asset Management called it "an engineering flex with no commercial value beyond embarrassing traditional car makers" (Reuters). Electrek's Fred Lambert says the engineering is real but the headline stunts are on trims that are invite-only or limited, and he doubts Tesla will sell more than a handful of them. Enthusiasts such as Sawyer Merritt called it "the most insane product demo" he had seen.
Bottom line for a buyer
If you want a fast electric car in 2027, the Roadster is not an option. If you want to bet on a 2028 halo car and can lock up $50,000, reserving is possible, but nothing about price or date is promised. Compare again when Tesla publishes a price.
Sources: Reuters, CNBC, The Verge, Electrek, Wired (15-16 Oct 2026); Tesla Roadster page. Rival figures are approximate manufacturer claims, not re-verified today. Not buying or investment advice.
← Back to all posts